Bowlers dominate on Day One of Harris Shield final | Cricket

Bowlers ruled the roost as Swami Vivekan and International School, Kandivli, and Al Barkaat MMI shared the honors on Day One of the Harris Shield final at the Bombay Gymkhana on Tuesday.

Electing to bat, Swami Vivekan and struggled to stitch partnerships and were skittled out for 166 by Al Barkaat. Medium pacer Kartik Kumar was the top wicket-taker with figures of four for 39 and he was well-supported by left-arm spinner Saad Khan, who took three wickets for 37. Leg-spinner Sachit Kadam kept Swami Vivekanand in the contest by claiming three wickets for 28 runs and helped them reduce Al-Barkaat to 85 for five at stumps.

Brief scores (Final, Day One): Swami Vivekanand International School, Kandivli 166 in 45.3 overs (Kshitij Pal 44; Kartik Kumar 4/39, Saad Khan 3/37) vs Al Barkaat MMI 85/5 in 28 overs (Agneya Aadi 35*; Sachit Kadam 3/28)

Anjuman-I-Islam’s Vishwakarma hits double century

Laxman Vishwakarma (224, 205b; 38x4s, 1x6s) hit a double century as Anjuman-I-Islam’s Allana English High School declared their innings at 555 for eight against Smt. Sulochanadevi Singhania School, Thane, on Day One of their Super League Group A match of the Giles Shield on Tuesday.

Abdur Khan (109, 111b; 16x4s), Parth Pawar 71 and Ayush Shinde 45 were the other drummers who contributed in Anjuman’s huge total.

Brief scores (Day One): Modern English School 76 in 28.2 overs (Amaan Ali 3/21) vs Al Barkaat MMI 358/6 in 68 overs (Akash Mangade 110, Om Bangar 96, Shaurya Patil 42); IES New English School, Bandra 319/8 in 92 overs (Shreyas Khilare 64, Harshvardhan Barmukh 67, Sanjot Sathwane 57, Yash Rawat 36, Dhaviet Prakash 38*; Shaun Korgaonkar 3/100) vs IES VN Sule Guruji, Dadar; Anjuman-I-Islam’s Allana English High School 555/8d in 97 overs (Laxman Vishwakarma 224, Abdur Khan 109, Parth Pawar 71, Ayush Shinde 45) vs Smt. Sulochanadevi Singhania School, Thane; Swami Vivekanand, Gorai 153 in 46.2 overs (Rishabh Gupta 43, Viren Jadhav 34, Dairya Rasam 3/49) vs RR Education Trust 95/1 in 30 overs (Smin Kini 53*)

MFA Elite Division: KSA fight back to hold Mumbai Knights 2-2

Karnatak Sporting Association (KSA) bounced back from two goals down to hold Mumbai Knights-JMJ Sports Club 2-2 in the Mumbai Football Association (MFA) Elite Division match at the Neville D’Souza Turf in Bandra on Tuesday.

Mumbai Knights took 2-0 lead through Shanon Pereira (17th minute) and Robert Elangovan (70th minute) but KSA pulled one back through Sanchit Singh in the 75th minute before Mohammed Zaid scored the equalizer in the 84th.

Results: Elite Division: DK Pharma SC 2 (Zeeshan Akhter 13, Eugene Nimako) beat GM Sports Club 0; Mumbai Knights-JMJ SC 2 (Shanon Pereira, Robert Elangovan) drew with Karnatak SA 2 (Sanchit Singh, Mohammed Zaid).

Adv. AR Kudrolli Memorial Football Tournament results: Udya Sports Club 3 (Siddu Pawar 2, Mohit Gatti) beat Jawahar Young Boys 1 (Mantesh Bankar); Satya Vijaya Sports Club 2 (Yash Kotian 2) beat Star of Canara 2 (Rolden Castelino)

GMAAA inter-school & junior college swimming championships results: Girls’: Under-19: 100m breaststroke: Rabiya Darvesh (St. Xaviers College) 01:32.87; 100m butterfly: Rabiya Darvesh 01:27.45; 100m freestyle: Rabiya Darvesh 01:09.93; 100m IM: Rabiya Darvesh 01:19.76; Under-15: 100m backstroke: Anannya Nayak (Vibgyor High) 01:09.41; 50m freestyle: Anannya Nayak 00:27.39; 100m freestyle: Anannya Nayak 01:01.09; 10m IM: Anannya Nayak; Boys’: Under-17 100m backstroke: Moiz Chawdhary (KC College) 01:01.77; U-15: 100m butterfly: Shubham Joshi (Holy Angels) 01:00.75; 100m freestyle: Shubham Joshi 56.28s; Individual Champions: BOYS’: U-19: Sanket Mhatre (Nirmala Memorial); U-17: Jaiveer Motwani (Jamnabai Narsee); U-15s: Shubham Joshi (Holy Angels); U-13: Archit Morvekar (Dr. Antonio da Silva Technical); U-11: Kabir Khubchandani (Dhirubhai Ambani); U-9: Abir Seth (Vibgyor High); U-7: Aryav Redkar (St. John`s High) and Khush Vakharia (Podar ORT Inter); GIRLS’: U-19: Rabiya Darvesh( St. Xavier’s); U-17: Dia Makhecha (The Cathedral & John Connon); U-15: Anannya Nayak (Vibgyor High); U-13: Sanaya Shetty (Dhirubhai Ambani); U-11: Anvi Deshwal (Bombay Scottish); U-9: Heeva Patel (Activity High).


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *