IND vs NZ Match Preview, 1st Q20I, 2023

The IND vs NZ series continues with the T20I series after the Indian team won the ODI series 3-0. In the process, they became the number one ranked ODI side. The Kiwis have slipped to the third position in the rankings. In T20Is, India are the number one team while the Kiwis are placed fifth.

Both teams now play a three-match T20I series. The T20Is will be played in Ranchi (January 27), Lucknow (January 29), and Ahmedabad (February 1) respectively after the third ODI in Indore. The T20I series also is a part of the preparations for both teams for the ODI World Cup later this year.

IPL 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Australia tour of India 2023

India vs New Zealand 2nd ODI 2023
Photo Credit: (Twitter)

After beating Sri Lanka at home in the last series, Hardik Pandya has been retained as the captain of the India National Cricket Team for the series against New Zealand. Rohit Sharma said that he will think about his T20I future after IPL 2023. All the senior players including Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj have been rested for this series.

The Kiwis will be led by Mitchell Santner. Dane Cleaver and Ben Lister are a part of the Kiwi T20I squad who did not lay the ODIs. The rest of the side is almost the same.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

India and New Zealand have played 22 T20 Is prior to this series with India winning 12 matches and New Zealand nine. Both teams last played a T20I series in November 2022 in New Zealand. India won the series 1-0.

IND vs NZ Match Preview, 1st Q20I, 2023

Hardik Pandya, Rohit Sharma
Hardik Pandya, Rohit Sharma. (Photo: Getty)

Hardik Pandya will continue leading the side after doing a terrific job in the series against Sri Lanka. He won the series 2-1 as captain and the players under him did a fantastic job. A few players to watch out for in this series will be Suryakumar Yadav and Prithvi Shaw. While Surya finished as the highest run-getter in T20 Is last year, Shaw has got himself selected on the back of some consistent performances in domestic cricket.

Shivam Mavi has retained his place after an impressive series against Sri Lanka. Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav are the other bowlers in the side. Deepak Hooda and Washington Sunder are the two all-rounders along with Hardik.

India T20I Squad: Hardik Pandya (Captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Rahul Tripathi, Prithvi Shaw, Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Shivam Mavi, Ishan Kishan, Jitesh Sharma, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar

New Zealand

Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi
Image Source: Twitter

New Zealand will be led by Mitchell Santner. They are without Kane Williamson, Tim Southee and Trent Boult in this series. Tom Latham, who led them in the ODIs is also not a part of the T20I squad. All eyes will be on Devon Conway and Michael Bracewell after the ODI series. Fin Allen disappointed one and all during the ODI series. The management would hope that he scores runs in the T20Is.

Trent Boult and Tim Southee
Trent Boult and Tim Southee. Pic Credits: Twitter.

Without Southee and Boult, the Kiwi bowling attack lacks the much-needed experience. Lockie Ferguson is the only pacer with prior experience playing in India. Ish Sodhi who was benched throughout the ODI series should now be given all three games in the T20I series.

New Zealand T20I Squad: Mitchell Santner (Captain), Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Daryl Mitchell, Michael Rippon, Finn Allen, Dane Cleaver, Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Ben Lister, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner

Also Read: IND vs NZ: Virat Kohli vs Sachin Tendulkar, Who Is Better? Kapil Dev Responds

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *