Melbourne Stars leg-spinner Adam Zampa, while bowling the fourth delivery of the final over, tried ‘mankading’ Tom Rogers at the non-striker’s end during the Big Bash League (BBL) match between Melbourne Stars and Melbourne Renegades on January 3, 2023 However, the third umpire overturned the decision in favor of Rogers.
The debate surrounding ‘Mankading’ – bowler’s attempt to run out the batter if he/she tries to go past the crease before the bowler releases the ball – has been a center of controversy in cricket during recent years.
Last year, Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), who makes or amends laws of cricket, decided to make run outs at the bowler’s end legal with effect from October 2022.
The Laws concerning the Non-Striker Run Outs are covered under clause 41.16 of MCC’s Laws of Cricket.
“If the non-striker is out of his/her ground from the moment the ball comes into play to the instant when the bowler would normally have been expected to release the ball, the bowler is permitted to attempt to run him/her out. “
Here is a list of recent Mankading attempts:
January 03, 2023
In a Big Bash League match between Melbourne Stars and Melbourne Renegades, Adam Zampa while bowling to Mackenzie Harvey stopped midway and whipped-off the bails at the non-striker’s end to ‘Mankad’ Tom Rogers. However, the third umpire declined to give out to Rogers on the ground that Zampa’s arm had beyond its highest vertical point to deliver the bowl and so the batter at the non-striker’s end could have left his crease.
September 24, 2022
Indian all-rounder Deepti Sharma, during India vs England 3rd ODI clash at Lords, mankad England’s Charlie Dean in the 44th over of England’s innings. This happened when Freya Davies was at the striker’s end and England needed 17 of 39 balls to win the match with one wicket in hand. India won the match, clinching the series 3-0.
September 08, 2020
During Afghanistan’s Shpageeza Cricket League match, Mis Ainak Knights’ fast bowler Dawlat Zardan ran out Kabul Eagles’ Noor Ali Zardan, as Noor Ali was seen taking a few steps out of the crease at the non-striker’s end when Dawlat was about to deliver the bowl. Dawlat stopped before delivering the ball and dislodged the bails. The appeal was later sent to the third umpire and after reviewing, Ali Zardan was given out.
March 25, 2019
During the IPL clash between King XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals, Kings XI’s R Ashwin stopped his action and mankad Rajasthan Royals’ Jos Buttler during the 13th over of the game. Buttler, who was batting at 69 off 43 balls, was given out by the third umpire Bruce Oxenford. This missing attempt drew heated debates across the cricketing world and is still widely discussed.
February 19, 2016
Oman’s Aamir Kaleem ‘mankad’ Hong Kong’s Mark Chapman in the Asia Cup T20 2016 qualifier match. While delivering the second last ball of the ninth over of the match, Kaleem noticed that Chapman was out of his crease and thus instead of delivering the ball, he turned around to dismantle the bails. The on-field umpire deemed it out.
February 02, 2016
During the ICC U19 World Cup match between West Indies and Zimbabwe, West Indian pacer Keemo Paul mankad Zimbabwean batsman Richard Ngarava during the final over of the match. Zimbabwe, at that stage, needed 3 runs to win the match with 1 wicket in hand. While Paul was approaching to deliver the ball, he saw Ngarava stepping out of the crease and then the fast bowler removed the bails instead of delivering the ball. Ngarava was given out by the third umpire and thus West Indies secured a place in the quarter-finals, while Zimbabwe was knocked out.
June 03, 2014
In the fifth ODI played between England and Sri Lanka at Birmingham, Lankan player Sachithra Senanayake struck off the bails at the non-striker’s end when English batsman Jos Buttler was backing up. After giving a warning earlier, Senanayake while delivering 44th over of the first innings, dislodged the bails when Buttler was a yard away from the crease. The umpire, upholding the rule, awarded a wicket to the Lankans.
December 09, 1992
During India’s tour of South Africa, Indian all-rounder Kapil Dev, after warning twice in the earlier matches, missed South African batsman Peter Kirsten in the 2nd ODI played at Gqeberha. During the ninth over, Kirsten was backing up too far off the crease and thus Kapil Dev ran out Kirsten sending him to the pavilion.
How it started
It all started with one of the finest Indian left-arm spinners Vinoo Mankad. During the second Test match of India’s tour to Australia in 1947/48, Mankad ran out Australian batsman Bill Brown at the non-striker’s end when the batsman was backing up. Thus, the term Mankad originated.
According to Law 38 in the MCC constitution, “It is unfair for the batters to attempt to steal a run during the bowler’s run-up. Unless the bowler attempts to run out either batter, the umpire shall call and signal Dead ball as soon as the batters cross in such an attempt and inform the other umpire of the reason for this action.”